Integrated Care Systems

The update on the Five Year Forward View announced that some STPs would evolve into Accountable Care Systems (ACS) and these have since been rebranded as Integrated Care Systems (ICS).

Integrated care systems work in partnership with local councils and others, taking collective responsibility for managing resources, delivering NHS standards, and improving the health of the population they serve. 14 ICS areas have been selected on the basis of the quality of their STPs and an assessment of their ability to work at scale to demonstrate progress in taking forward the ambitions of the Forward View. 

They operate in:

  1. South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw
  2. Frimley Health and Care
  3. Dorset
  4. Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes
  5. Nottinghamshire
  6. Lancashire and south Cumbria
  7. West Berkshire
  8. Buckinghamshire
  9. Greater Manchester (devolution deal)
  10. Surrey Heartlands (devolution deal)
  11. Gloucestershire
  12. West Yorkshire and Harrogate
  13. Suffolk and North East Essex
  14. North Cumbria

These include both devolved health and care systems and those areas previously designated as ‘shadow accountable care systems’. In 2018, these systems serve around one in six people in England.

The first wave of ICSs are already assuming accountability for local operational and financial performance. From April 2018, they will begin to gain new financial flexibilities and to use new tools for better understanding local health data.

Further integrated care systems will be confirmed by NHS England and NHS Improvement in 2018. To become one, a local system must show its partnership is advanced enough to make shared decisions, improve services for the public and manage resources collectively.

Find out more here: